Amy Keenan, Corporate Recruiter, Allied Building Products

P1030383What do you do in your position?
I am a Corporate Recruiter for a great company, Allied Building Products.  Every day, I source the best talent for Inside/Outside Sales Professionals, IT and Management.  I mainly hone in on the Northeast, Great Lakes Region and the Florida area.

What month/year did you start?
I started with Allied on September 2, 2014. I remember the date exactly because I was so excited to come on board!

lilacsWhere is your job located?
My recruiting office is based out of Rochester, NY – which is known as the Flower City and for hosting the annual Lilac Festival. 


What do you like about working here?
What I really enjoy about working at Allied is joining such a dedicated team of professionals in the office and working with the hiring managers as well.  The support that I receive is outstanding!

What are the best parts of your job?
The best parts – well, there are so many!  To narrow it down – I really love how our team works so well together and makes coming to work such a great experience.  Also, it’s exciting to move forward with the “right” talent and being able to offer the position of full-time employment.  I go home at the end of the day feeling AWESOME!

Why do you think Oldcastle is a good place to work?
We have people in the company who have such a passion for the building materials industry and believe in the products. This combination has made us so successful over the years.  We have so much to offer someone looking for not just a job but a career! I believe in the vision of Oldcastle – building a better tomorrow, and it begins with YOU!

How would your co-workers describe you?
Hmmm….I think that my co-workers would say: “Energetic, Passionate, Professional, Fun, Motivated, A Team Player and ANIMATED!”

P1000458

A Cumulus Cloud

Just for fun, we want to know – what was your first job ever?
My first job was something that I sought out. I became so interested in the weather during 8th grade, that I scheduled and conducted interviews with 3 different Meteorologists from the local news stations.  I was able to go into each news station to shadow and gain an understanding of what their job responsibilities entailed.  Then, I became a WeatherSpotter. It was an unpaid job, but certainly rewarding. I was responsible for reporting current temperature readings and conditions for my hometown. Sometimes, my name was stated on the air and, in that moment, I felt like a celebrity! 

Cloud photo credits: Amy Keenan

Do you have any funny or interesting work stories to share?
Let’s see…Some people may not know, but I worked at 13WHAM News (formerly known as WOKR TV 13) as a part-time Forecaster for 6 ½ years (mainly on the weekends) gathering data to create a forecast, updating the Weatherline (a line that the public could call into for a up-to-date forecast), updating the webpage, recording my forecast for local radio stations and the DOT.  It was a great job because, even if I was wrong, I still had a job!  When I was younger, I wanted to move out West to chase tornadoes…my family and friends thought that I was crazy!

If you would like, tell us about your family.
I am blessed to have such a wonderful, loving and supportive family!  I have two children- a son who is almost 9, and quite the Engineer.  He is always experimenting!  My daughter, who is 5 ½, is a ray of sunshine, full of energy and loves to dance.  And, I have a great husband, a Mechanical Engineer who puts up with me! 

What are your hobbies outside of work?
Playing with my kids, camping, mowing the lawn, fishing, crafting and going on vacations with my family!

Find out more about Allied Building Products (including job opportunities):
http://www.alliedbuilding.com/

Oldcastle is North America’s largest manufacturer of building products and materials. With more than 2,000 locations throughout North America, we are in constant pursuit of the next generation of successful decision makers, leaders and problem solvers. Learn more about joining the Oldcastle team HERE.

Follow us on FacebookTwitterGoogle+Pinterest, and LinkedIn! And, join our new Talent Community!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Meet The Recruiting Team

Leave a Reply

