Corey Listar, Director of Staffing Operations, Oldcastle Recruiting Office

CoreyListarWhat do you do in your position?
As Director of Staffing Operations, I work with a great team who handle everything from onboarding and office management to social media for recruitment to non-exempt job postings.  I also work closely with the Applicant Tracking System and do some recruiting reports once in a while.

When did you join Oldcastle? April, 2005

Where is your job located?
Rochester, NY.

What do you like about working here?
It’s a great atmosphere. I work with a terrific group of people!  I have an awesome team who work hard every day and really care about what they do. It’s a great feeling to know that you work in a great team environment where everyone is willing to help out and go that extra mile. 

What are the best parts of your job?
Knowing that your little piece of the puzzle can make a difference in a large company like Oldcastle.  Oh yeah – did I mention the team – that too!

How would your co-workers describe you?
I think they would say I am someone who comes in early every day.
His team’s take: “He is a great boss who is always putting his employees first. He’s always there for his team and we feel like we can go to him for anything.”

Just for fun, we want to know – what was your first job ever?
My first real job where I actually received a weekly paycheck was during high school in Albany, NY.  I worked for a paint store owned by my next door neighbor.  I mainly unloaded the trucks, stocked the shelves and tinted paint when he didn’t have any other options. They did it by eye most of the time, and I wasn’t that good!  When I was in junior high, and up until college, I painted houses on summer break, but that wasn’t a “regular” paycheck.  I loved that though, because, for a kid, I made a lot of money!!

Do you have any funny or interesting work stories to share?
When I was at Allied Building Products, I was working on a major payroll implementation.  We had been working on the project for about 9 months. I traveled from Rochester, NY to the Corporate office in New Jersey for the week it was to “go live”. The first day we were going live with the new payroll system was the same day a massive hurricane hit the area.  We all had to do whatever we could to make the switch and make sure people got paid.  We ended up going to the Payroll Manager’s basement, as no other options had electricity.  Needless to say, it was an interesting experience!

If you would like, tell us about your family.
I have an awesome 13 year old son who loves video games and really enjoys beating me every time we play.  He is a good tennis player as well, and is on the JV team.

For his birthday, Corey’s team treated him to a specially designed Bigfoot Pizza!

Have any hobbies outside of work?
I enjoy searching for Bigfoot in my spare time.  The problem with this hobby is that I really don’t enjoy camping, going in the woods, wading through swamps, climbing mountains, going into caves, climbing trees or anything else like that, so it makes my search more difficult.  That being said, I see that as a challenge, and I hope to find one someday and prove that the elusive Bigfoot does exist.

Read Corey’s blog post on Bigfoot and the job search HERE.
Connect with Corey on LinkedIn.

taglineOldcastle

Oldcastle is North America’s largest manufacturer of building products and materials. With more than 2,000 locations throughout North America, we are in constant pursuit of the next generation of successful decision makers, leaders and problem solvers. Learn more about joining the Oldcastle team HERE.

Follow Oldcastle Careers on Twitter, Instagram, LinkedIn, YouTube, and Facebook for jobs and career advice. And, don’t forget to join our NEW Talent Community to receive a monthly e-mail newsletter with expert advice on the job search process.

Leave a comment

Filed under Meet The Recruiting Team

Leave a Reply

