Joe Bianchi, Corporate Recruiter, Oldcastle Materials

06-28-2015-Jenn 047What do you do in your position at Oldcastle?
I work on the Oldcastle’s Materials Team and recruit for their Southeast Division.  The Southeast Division consists of APAC Mississippi, Conrad Yelvington, MidSouth Paving and Preferred Materials (located in Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Mississippi, and Tennessee).  I recruit for all exempt level positions within the Southeast. These roles could include Paving Foreman, Superintendents, Project Managers, Estimators, Ready Mix Sales, Plant Foreman as well as Corporate Staff positions.

When did you join Oldcastle?
February, 2015

Where is your job located?
Rochester, NY

What do you like about working here?
Oldcastle is a great place to work.  Since I have been here, it seems to be in continuous growth mode, and you really feel like you’re helping the organization by finding quality people to help continue its growth. I enjoy the culture, and like working for an organization that promotes getting the job done as well as career development opportunities for its employees.

What are the best parts of your job?
My co-workers.  They are always quick to help or give guidance when needed.  I enjoy coming in and working with them every day.  Next, the relationships that I built with the Hiring Managers, Human Resources and others who work in the Southeast.  Even though I work from a distance, I still feel like I’m part of their team. In addition, I enjoy getting to meet all the great candidates that we come in contact with.  I get to know our candidates very well through the process, and try to stay in touch even after they are hired.  For those who haven’t been hired yet, I take it upon myself to try and help to find the right fit for them.  It’s always a great feeling when you know that you did the right thing for someone and they are able to advance their career.

Jenn 11-16-2014 037What would your co-workers say about you?
I think they view me as a very big family guy. If I am not going to a baseball game, I am usually at a family dinner, birthday party or just getting together for a visit.  There are not many nights that I go straight home.  They probably would also say that I am very organized.  If you see my desk, everything has a place. My motto is – the less paper, the better!

Do you have any funny or interesting work stories to share?
I have too many to share, but here’s one: I used to work at Buckman’s Carwash in high school.  One day, I was asked to play the role of a dentist and was given a hammer and pencil.  The thought was that, since I played baseball, I would be the most qualified to hit the eraser on the pencil with the hammer and extract a loose tooth.  I accepted the challenge and the tooth was removed.  What I failed to mention prior, was that I was pitcher.

Just for fun, we want to know – what was your first job ever?
My first job ever was as a dishwasher at a Greek restaurant called Emerald’s.  My friend Traffy got me and all of our buddies a job there for the summer.

2012-RCBLChampionshipDo you have any hobbies?
I love anything baseball (NY Mets), football (Buffalo Bills), working in the yard, and for those who know me…vacuuming. When I’m not at the office, I help to run the Rochester Collegiate Baseball League with two of my good friends, Dan Sullivan and Lou Izzo. The “RCBL” is a local (Rochester, NY) league built for college players to develop and play competitive baseball during the summer. In addition, we also run a High School League in August which is modeled after our college league. www.rochestercbl.com.

JBDaughterTell us about your family.
My wife Jennifer and I have a lively 4 year old daughter, Faith, and a clueless 5 year old black lab named Smuckers at home. We are also expecting our second child in early September. Jenn and I both come from very large and very close families. With 11 nieces and nephews on both sides and with #12 showing up any day now, our nights and weekends are typically filled with some type of family event. And not only are we close with both sides of the family, but both sides are close with each other. It’s not unusual to hear that my parents and in-laws were up until 3 am playing cards together on a Saturday night…and we weren’t even invited!
11-16-2014 149Jenn 11-16-2014 064image (9)

Connect with me on LinkedIn: Joe Bianchi

taglineOldcastle

Oldcastle is North America’s largest manufacturer of building products and materials. With more than 2,000 locations throughout North America, we are in constant pursuit of the next generation of successful decision makers, leaders and problem solvers. Learn more about joining the Oldcastle team HERE.

Follow us on TwitterInstagramLinkedInYouTube, and Facebook for jobs and career advice. And, don’t forget to join our NEW Talent Community to receive a monthly e-mail newsletter with expert advice on the job search process.

Leave a comment

Filed under Meet The Recruiting Team

Leave a Reply

