Claire Tuck, Corporate Recruiter, Allied Building Products

ClaireTuckWhat do you do in your position?
I am a corporate recruiter for our Allied Building Products division. 

When did you join Oldcastle?
August, 2015

Where is your job located?
My job is located in Rochester, New York, but I recruit for positions throughout the United States.

What do you like about working here?
I work with an amazing team who are always willing to help out! I love having the opportunity to work with such an outgoing, professional, and fun group of people who know what needs to be done in order to continue to help our company be successful.

What are the best parts of your job?
I like knowing that I am helping people find a career that they will love.

What would your co-workers say about you?
I think they would say that I’m someone who learns quickly and is a hard worker. On a lighter note, they would probably point out that I have a serious obsession with burrito bowls from Chipotle.

Can you share any funny or interesting work stories?
My background is mostly in education, and I come from a family of teachers. I went back and forth on what I really saw myself doing after I earned my degree in communications, and a few years later returned to school for my Master’s in childhood and special education. I had an opportunity, while working in a school located in one of Rochester’s suburbs, to be the assistant coach for the girls varsity basketball team, and loved every minute of it! Teaching and coaching my team, both on and off the court, was highly rewarding. I felt as though I was following in the footsteps of my father who had coached basketball for 25 years!

basketballWhat was your first job ever?
My first job was as a counselor/coach at an overnight basketball camp at Hobart William Smith College in Geneva, New York.  Basketball has always been a huge part of my life. I still help out with my sister’s varsity team from time to time.

crossfitDo you have any hobbies?
I’m really big into staying fit and healthy. About a year and a half ago, I started doing Crossfit, and have become really involved in the gym that I go to. The people that go to my gym are like a family to me, and keep me on my toes competitively. I couldn’t ask for a better group of people.

lunchesI also love cooking. At my previous job, I cooked lunch for myself and my coworkers, and I even started cooking for the people my fiancé worked with as well.

Tell us about your family.
I come from a pretty large family that includes a twin sister who is my best friend! I’m also getting married March 26th, 2015 which has been very exciting and keeping me busy.  We currently have two children, Dominic who is a lab/German Shepherd mix, and Parker who is a miniature dachshund.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                     familyengagment2

Looking for a position with Allied Building Products?
Connect with Claire on LinkedIn
.

taglineOldcastle

Oldcastle is North America’s largest manufacturer of building products and materials. With more than 2,000 locations throughout North America, we are in constant pursuit of the next generation of successful decision makers, leaders and problem solvers. Learn more about joining the Oldcastle team HERE.

Follow us on: TwitterInstagramLinkedInYouTube, and Facebook for jobs and career advice. And, don’t forget to join our NEW Talent Community to receive a monthly e-mail newsletter with expert advice on the job search process.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Meet The Recruiting Team

Leave a Reply

