Lea Preller, Corporate Recruiter, Oldcastle Precast

IMG_5452What do you do in your position?
I am a Corporate Recruiter for Oldcastle Precast, a division of Oldcastle. Oldcastle Precast is a leading manufacturer of precast concrete in the U.S. My job helps busy managers across the country find qualified candidates faster and more efficiently. 

When did you join Oldcastle? I started in April, 2016!

Where is your job located?
I work in the recruiting office in Rochester, NY.

What do you like about working here?
My coworkers in the recruiting office are super friendly and helpful.  This is my first full-time position after college, so I am grateful that everyone is willing to lend a hand when I have a question.  I know that I have so much to learn, but I am fortunate to have found an opportunity with growth potential and many smart people to look up to!

What are the best parts of your job?
One of my favorite parts of my job is assisting recruiters in the office by sourcing for candidates on different job boards to help give their openings more exposure.  It is a great feeling to hear that I helped them to find qualified candidates and to fill positions faster.  Another part of my job that I love is helping different managers across the country with posting jobs and answering any of their questions.  Though I will not meet most of them in person, I enjoy developing relationships via email or over the phone and doing whatever I can to make their job easier. 

CorporateChallenge2016

What would co-workers say about you?
I hope that they would say that I am a hard worker and always willing to help out in any way that I can!

What was your first job ever?
I worked at Delta Sonic car wash as a cashier.  It was a great first job because it taught me valuable customer service skills. It was not a typical cashier role because I earned commission on the different products I up-sold to customers.  Some of the skills I learned working at Delta I will take with me throughout my career.

LeaP

Corporate Challenge 2016

Do you have any fun or interesting work stories?
I visited a manufacturing branch in Fishers, NY that produces cement blocks.  The branch manager took us on a very thorough tour of the facility.  It was great to see the branch because it gave me a much better idea of some of the positions we recruit for beyond the details of a job description.

What do you do outside of work?
I spend most of my nights after work relaxing with my family or reading a good book.  On the weekends, I enjoy seeing my friends, going shopping, and spending some time outside.  Also, I love to travel and explore new places.

Would you like to share anything about your family?
I grew up in West Irondequoit with my parents and older sister.  My mom is a landscape designer, my dad is a manager of a vacuum store and my sister is a kindergarten teacher.  I love to spend time with them and we all get along very well!    

Connect with Lea: LinkedIn. 

Want to learn more about working for Oldcastle?
Visit us at Oldcastle Careers.

taglineOldcastle

Oldcastle is North America’s largest manufacturer of building products and materials. With more than 2,000 locations throughout North America, we are in constant pursuit of the next generation of successful decision makers, leaders and problem solvers. Learn more about joining the Oldcastle team HERE.

Follow us!  TwitterInstagramLinkedInYouTube, and Facebook for jobs and career advice. And, don’t forget to join our NEW Talent Community to receive a monthly e-mail newsletter with expert advice on the job search process.

Leave a comment

Filed under Meet The Recruiting Team

Leave a Reply

