Jennifer Latone, Driver Recruiter

jl5What do you do in your position? I am a Driver Recruiter for Allied Building Products, the distribution division of Oldcastle.  My focus is to identify talented CDL drivers across the states to join our team delivering both interior and exterior building products locally to our customers.

When did you join Oldcastle? August 2016

Where is your job located?  Rochester, NY

What do you like about working here?  So far, it’s absolutely the team here! Everyone is so supportive and friendly. It seems that everyone really enjoys what they do and works hard to achieve their goals. It’s pretty awesome to be working with like-minded people.

What are the best parts of your job? What I really like about Oldcastle is that I’m not trying to fill temporary positions like some of my previous recruiting work. Being able to help a person find stable employment with a successful company makes me feel good. The fact that it’s so easy to “sell” a company that treats its employees awesome, has great benefits, and so much room for growth makes it not feel like a “sell” at all.

What would co-workers say about you? Can anyone ever answer this question? Ha, ha! Well, I would think they probably would say that I have a positive attitude and always do my best. They may say that I’m a bit of a joker filled with useless information too, lol.

What was your first job ever? I think I was 14/15 and I worked at my local pizzeria – LB’s Pizza in Lima, NY. I’d get up super early on the weekend and go in to do all the prep work for the day.

Do you have any fun or interesting work stories? Let’s see…one time I had a little fender bender on the way to work, and, just as I pulled up in front of my job, my whole engine went up in flames! They had to evacuate the building until the fire department came because it might have exploded. That was pretty interesting and super embarrassing!

What do you do outside of work? I love to spend time with my mom and two sisters most of all. I am often doing some sort of experimental cooking and love learning anything new. Most of the time, I am just spoiling my cat Ludo, binge watching Netflix, or have my nose in a good book, lol. I’m a bit of a homebody.

Would you like to share anything about your family?  We are mostly a family of girls, and yet we are more mechanically inclined than most. My (tiny) big sister was a mechanic for GM for years, and I took schooling for building mechanics just so we could be self-sufficient and not have to call anyone to fix anything. I have to say that it has turned out to be a pretty handy thing.

Bonus fun fact: Both my mother and big sister were born in Japan, and I could use chopsticks before regular silverware. 🙂 

What is your LinkedIn URL?  You can find me here: Jennifer Latone on LinkedIn

Want to learn more about working for Oldcastle?
Visit us at Oldcastle Careers.

taglineOldcastle

Oldcastle is North America’s largest manufacturer of building products and materials. With more than 2,000 locations throughout North America, we are in constant pursuit of the next generation of successful decision makers, leaders and problem solvers. Learn more about joining the Oldcastle team HERE.

Follow us on: TwitterInstagramLinkedInYouTube, and Facebook for jobs and career advice. And, don’t forget to join our NEW Talent Community to receive a monthly e-mail newsletter with expert advice on the job search process.

Leave a comment

Filed under Meet The Recruiting Team

Leave a Reply

